Tour with so many kids!

Let’s play the “Good:Bad Game”.

Bad: seven kids (0ut of a 16 total) were children.

Good: they were only in two families.

Bad: one of them had Down Syndrome and this did impact the tour for other, non-kid, non-family particpants.

Good: everybody really tried to work it in and we formed a great team network.

Bad: half of them were teenage boys and ALWAYS starving. The other half were fussy brats and required extra cooking of different meals, which they then didn’t eat (Is this cheese Emmenthal? No? I don’t like it, then.)

Good: the kids were fantastic wood gathers; always trying to outdo each other.

Bad: they wanted to burn all of the wood before I could cook on it.

Good: they were very attentive to my tight time schedule.

Bad: said schedule went out of the window when I had to twice focus on medical emergencies not of our group.

Good: we got to bond over my congratulations on them not maiming/killing themselves after I had specifically told them not to.

Bad: I showed up my general incompetence at campfire cooking, reverse trailer parking and being awake after 10. Also, my disgusting old person musical taste as a wakeup alarm.

Good: I’d forgotten how interesting it is to observe/interact with the development of people.

Bad: they were so fucking loud, all of the time!

Good: I loved the parents and we all bonded excessively (to the extent that the mother of the brood of four wants to tour with me in the Kimberley next year and will come to any company I might be working for).

Bad: I felt bereft when I dropped them off.

Summary: was dreading tour, so many things went wrong but we all pulled together and it turned out to be worth the incredible amount of hard work I put in (literally, figuratively, emotionally and also demonstrated financially in the form of gratuities.)

For an added bonus, let’s play End of Tour!

Good: I arrived back in town during daylight, for a leisurely cleanout of my truck and the anticipation of a relaxed 24 hours.
Bad: next tour is actually only 12 hours away from the last one and nobody told me that I was going back to back so laundry is an issue (only one supplied shirt).
Good: work kindly agreed to let me use their dryer.
Bad: said dryer will be accessible at 4 am, whilst I am loading up my next vehicle. It has been below freezing here and I am not looking forward to the morning dressing.
Good: next tour is only three days long so I am streamlining the process by not taking a change of clothes, toiletries or a hairbrush!

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

