Not even remotely organised

I go away for work, for a week tomorrow. In my current state of mind, there is no way I am prepared for it. I jsut can’t concentrate on things and I drift aimlessly around, stopping only to do some cleaning. For some reason, random cleaning exactly suits my mood and while I could wish that it was less random and more day to day stuff, which isn’t getting done, there is a certain satisfaction in knowing that all fan blades in my house are clean.

 

This distraction also manifests itself as a dislike for clutter. I’ve never really been fond of it but I married a semi-hoarder and I seem to have adjusted to his level, rather than he to mine and I am aware of it and sometimes think wistfully back to ten years ago when everything I owned could fit into one suitcase. So I do like it when the basic stark minimism inclination occasionally rears its head again.

 

Unfortuantely, my distracted brain isn’t up to the task of sorting and rationalising and instead I just throw things out indiscriminately, in the full knowledge that this is not a good idea.

All the half finished hair products in the shower? Gone. I had to buy brand new this morning.

All the unmatching tupperware lids and containers? Gone. Also the matched ones. I want that space clear, dammit!

Food in the refridgerator? Chickens are having a field day. So far today they’ve been given two litres of home made apple juice, a big bowl of apple puree, marmalade, stale cheese, milk and bread. Admittedly, they still present the attitude of ‘wtf? this isn’t what I wanted to eat. it’s not good enough.’ but they are kind of arseholes like that, anyway.

 

So you get the idea. Careless irresponsibiity seems to be my default state right now and I am hoping fervently that this is just a temporary thing, caused by the situation and not the start of a manic episode. Because we all know where manic highs lead to – ebay shopping addictions and thigh high red stripper boots. Not a place I’d care to revisit.

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not even remotely organised

  1. Snowy says:

    Hi Kitty, I am sorry that you are going through such a rough patch. I won’t offer any advice, as I know you have come through rough patches before, and will no doubt do so again. Also, I hope your brother is soon on road to recovery.

    Little Odd Me from Vox is putting together a blog which is presently in beta stage. You may care to have a look around it when things improve for you. It can be found here.You can join now if you so desire. http://blogcozy.com/members/home I have a post today that you may find of interest. http://blogcozy.com/blogs/23/278/maslow

    Hoping that things soon improve for you and your brother.

    Kindest Regards,

    Snowy.

    • quirkycharm says:

      Thanks Snowy, I do read your blog and keep semi-up-to-date with your life (what a gorgeous granddaughter you have!).

      If you feel inclined, the password for protected posts is please. Not my story really (although it is, given the adjustment of my life around it) and those who believe don’t need my cynical (realistic) views.

      My brother will not get better. Nevertheless, it appears they are going to do both chemo and radiotherapy concurrently; this might eke out his miserable life for a few more months but it won’t take the unextracted tumours and their impact away. Yes, I should be more positive: I’m no good at maths but even I can work out that 3 – 5% survival rate for five years isn’t that fucking good.

  2. Snowy says:

    Hi Kitty, thank you for your blog password. I’m afraid my WP blog is sadly neglected. I usually hang around FB these days. Yes, my two grand daughters are the light of my life. Our elder son and his Canadian wife and 18 month old daughter now live here in Toowoomba. Our daughter and her Scot husband and 11 month old daughter also live here, so we are doubly blessed.

    I’m sorry that the prognosis for for your brother is not good. My wife’s brother died a year ago after battling liver cancer for a couple of years. He was my best mate from our days working on the Snowy together. Rather trite, I know, but I firmly believe that appreciating each day for the gift that it is, becomes more evident with each passing year. Take care, Kitty.

Leave a Reply

