Just got back off tour

The air conditioner, of a sealed window road coach, broke down on day 2 of a six day tour, up where it is warm. Most of my 35 paxs were extremely decrepit (walking sticks throughout) and the temperature on the vehicle was over 40 degrees. We opened the roof vents and that was about all we could do, way out in the middle of nowhere.

 

I consider myself extremely lucky that I didn’t have any serious long-lasted effects of the heat on most of them; I did honestly think that one fellow might not do so well but lots of judicious application of ice soaked cloths, and hydralite sipping, got him through it.

 

We managed to do the trip in short hops but it was long and tedious for a lot of them. I had a fantastic time, however.

 

Probably the highlight was the seventy mile boat cruise around Peron Point (Shark Bay): it was so rough, with a thirty knot gale blowing, but I loved it. Standing right on the tip of a twin hulled huge catamaran, I got thoroughly soaked but it was so worth it. I jumped in the air every time we hit a wave and the adrenaline surge was amazing! A lot of my oldies sat in the cabin and a couple got seasick but I was having so much fun that I was less than solicitious. Once I’d prepared and served lunch, I went back to swimming, landing on a remote area of Australia’s coast, just like those first shipwrecked Dutch mariners, and playing chicken with the soaking swell.

 

I think my passengers mostly liked me. I got nearly $100 in tips (on a trip made up of non-tipping Aussies that is amazing; it was from two people), presents and many requests to come on another tour with me. I have such a great fit for this job.

 

The six day tour was also great for resetting my internal depressive mechanism. I now feel that I can try to accomplish daily life again; my depression isn’t quite so crippling. God, I am still so sad about it all but if I break things down into blocks of time (on tour working and forgetting; then remembering and care giving), it is just possible that I can see a way through this for me.

 

 

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

