Sometimes I get it right.

Accidentally, but still I’ll take it.

My youngest daughter tagged me in on a facebook meme that basically said “if I turn into my mother, or even half the woman she is, I’ll consider my life a successful one.”

She added, “compassionate, determined and career driven; just a few of the qualities I look up to”.

I am recording this here not because I am boastfully proud; more that I am humbled. I love my daughters so much and I’ve always thought I wasn’t that great a mother. I tried, I really did but there was  a little sneaky voice inside me that said proper mothers find it all comes naturally. Not for me.

I read a lot of parenting books, I even took courses to teach me new ways of giving my children what society said they needed. I carried over some of my own mother’s behaviours and disregarded the ones that were harmful to me as a child. I reinforced the values I thought important and made sure my girls could see me putting them into practice.

But I always accepted that my girls were individuals, with their own characters and plans. I could only model and hope they were intelligent enough to mirror the right things.

That’s why my girl’s post hit me hard in the feels department. It makes me feel I got it just a little right here and there and that is so rewarding.

 

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

