Just attended a work function

It was a social meetup for those who had been on the tours; I think I mentioned that we have 70% repeat business? Well, a lot of those people are very loyal and love the opportunity to intermingle and show off photos and boast about different trips. So the company hires out a room in a local bowling club, provides a few snacks and there is a cash bar: people flock to it.

I was issued an invitation but it was made clear that I didn’t have to attend. I don’t get paid for stuff like that. Nevertheless, I felt it important to go and I was mobbed by past passengers. Of course, I didn’t have any idea who any of them were but luckily people were meant to wear nametags so it became a matter of placing them from a particular tour.

There was a lot of hugs and kisses from people who had been on my tours. There was also a lot of “You look so different!”. No shit, Sherlock. I actually have a few hours in the day to bathe and wash my clothes and baggy khaki isn’t a look I aspire to in the regular world. Even my boss, when giving a few words of thanks for coming, here are our staff etc., introduced me as “Kitty, who looks really different tonight!”.

I did feel like it was worth me being there. More so when I overheard a few people telling the founder of the company that they should never get rid of me, that I made their trip. He said to me later on that so many people had such good things to say about me and that I was an asset to the company.

When I applied for this job (that didn’t actually exist), I informed them that employing me would be a mutually beneficial thing. I was right.

 

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just attended a work function

  1. Sarah Morris Adams says:

    I can imagine you would be an asset to any company!

Leave a Reply

