Travelling to the remote arid regions

Except it is pissing down. The whole point of this trip is to go out to Birdsville and currently all of the roads are closed. Theoretically,  we might manage it if we drive 2000 extra kilometers and come in from the top end, via road that isn’t yet closed but there’s no guarantee that will still be the case by the time we get there.

 

And if your vehicle gets stuck out there and they close the roads, you are staying there until they reopen them, no matter how long it takes. Oh, sure: you could try and sneak out anyway but if you get caught, the vehicle is fined $5000 for each tyre it carries.  We have twelve, accounting for the trailer and our spare tyres.

 

So yeah, we dont currently know where we are going. Some of the passengers are okay with this, accepting it as the price of touring out here (deviations due to weather reports are specifically mentioned as a possible contingency at time of booking), but others clearly think that we are tour gods, rather than tour guides, and we are shirking our weather responsibilities.

 

This group seems a little strange anyway.  It normally takes me a few days to warm to people, and realise that they have other redeeming features that cancel out initial first (negative) impressions but I’m not so sure with this group.

 

Possibly I have been some2hat scarred by my experience on hour 1, day 1. A woman who couldn’t make the self checkin rerminal work got very frustrated and, thinking his dark suit meant important airline person,  summoned a totally random man over, obviously trying to go higher up the chain and complain.

 

Yeah, no big deal, you would think. Except he turned out to be head of security and she thought that telling him a bomb was in the machine might get some action.

 

It did. I did a hell of a lot of sweet talking,  citing totally spurious things,  such as senile dementia and appalling social skills, to allow her to fly but I think she still doesnt realise how close she came to being arrested.

 

Of the three things you shouldn’t ever mention at an airport, I think ‘bomb in the machine’ trumps ‘I have drugs in my rectum’, and even ‘I’ve been working abroad  when I got ill and want to get proper medical attention back home’.

 

 

About quirkycharm

I like to think that I have a certain quirky charm but I am probably being optimistic. Acquired taste, perhaps, which many don't acquire. This is about my fifth blog out there. My hosting companies kept going out of business or my IT exhusband kept hacking into them and I would move again. I don't do twitter, I barely do facebook, I don't try and 'monetize' my blog. I love my husband, my grown children and my job and this particular incarnation of oversharing my life comes at a time when I am the most content that I have ever been. I write always, sporadically during the good stuff and exhaustingly during the bad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

